

MEMORANDUM

To: Faculty, Staff and Students, University of Toronto Scarborough

Cc: Award Winners

From: Professor William A. Gough, Vice-Principal Academic & Dean

Professor Katherine R. Larson, Vice-Dean Teaching, Learning & Undergraduate Programs

Date: 15 July 2022

Re: Congratulations 2022 UTSC Teaching Award Recipients

Note: For broad distribution

We are pleased to announce the University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC) Teaching Awards recipients for 2022. The UTSC Teaching Awards were established to recognize teaching excellence in the classroom, educational leadership, and contributions to the teaching community at the University of Toronto Scarborough.

The award winners were chosen for their outstanding contributions to teaching and learning, for uplifting and motivating students, and for their demonstrated commitment to inclusive excellence in their pedagogical and curricular work.

The **2022 Recipients** listed by category are as follows:

Associate/Full Professors (tenure and teaching stream)

Professor Jessica Dere (Psychology)
Professor Nick Eyles (Physical & Environmental Sciences)

Assistant Professors (tenure stream, teaching stream and CLTA) and Lecturers (including part-time lecturers)

Professor Andrew Cooper (Psychology)

Professor Karen Smith (Physical & Environmental Sciences)

Unit 1 Course Instructors

Matt Jones (Arts, Culture & Media) Lloyd McArton (Arts, Culture & Media)

Unit 1 Graduate Teaching Assistants

Avesh Chadee (Biology)

Celia Ferrag (Physical & Environmental Sciences)

Paul Nelson (Sociology)

The award winners will be recognized this Fall at the Celebration of Distinguished Service. Please join us in congratulating the 2022 UTSC Teaching Award recipients.

athennial Larson

We would like to thank the members of the teaching awards committee for their service in adjudicating this year's nominations.

Yours sincerely,

William A. Gough

Vice-Principal Academic & Dean

Katherine R. Larson

Vice-Dean Teaching, Learning & Undergraduate Programs